M. R. Hall has written six novels and one prequel novella in the best-selling and highly acclaimed Jenny Cooper series. The books have sold around the world and have been translated into over a dozen languages. They have twice been shortlisted for the Crime Writers’ Association premier award, the Gold Dagger.


Drawing on his background as a criminal barrister and highly experienced screenwriter, M R Hall has created the only coroner in literary fiction. Investigating and solving cases in which the truth has eluded the police and all other authorities, Coroner Jenny Cooper is a bereaved family’s final hope. She is, quite literally, the last word in crime.


M R Hall author Twitter pageM R Hall Facebook page
The Innocent by M.R.Hal. Exclusive free edition Free download of The Innocent by M. R. Hall

The Innocent

Introducing Coroner Jenny Cooper...


An exclusive FREE edition of this gripping short crime story featuring Coroner Jenny Cooper, from the double CWA Gold Dagger shortlisted author of The Coroner.


When Coroner Jenny Cooper narrowly escapes death in a freak accident, she finds herself propelled back to traumatic events ten years in her past...


We meet Jenny in the thick of her former career as a hard-working family lawyer. When one of her clients, fourteen-year-old Natasha, dies tragically under the wheels of a train, Jenny finds herself falsely accused of being responsible. Betrayed by her colleagues and pursued by the police, Jenny faces the fight of her life to prevent herself falling victim to a gross injustice.


A gripping, moving short court-room drama, The Innocent is a fantastic introduction to M. R. Hall's Coroner Jenny Cooper crime series. Includes the opening chapters of M. R. Hall's stunning new novel The Chosen Dead.

The Burning by M R Hall




Buy The Burning by M. R. Hall

The Coroner by M R Hall




Buy The Coroner by M. R. Hall

The Disappeared by M R Hall




Buy The Disappeared by M. R. Hall

The Redeemed by M R Hall




Buy The Redeemed by M R Hall

The Flight by M R Hall




Buy The Flight by M R Hall

The Chosen Dead by M R Hall




Buy The Chosen Dead by M R Hall
News and Events


Meet the author of the Jenny Cooper crime novels

PanMacmillan publish the Jenny Cooper crime series of novels by M.R. Hall

If you would like M R Hall to appear at your event please contact Kate James for information.
© Matthew R Hall All rights reserved    |   Website by Elizabeth Walsh